Heide Board

Steven Skala AO (Chair)

Mr Steven Skala AO joined the Board in January 2016 and was appointed Chairman. Mr Skala is a banker and company director, and previously practiced law for many years. He is Vice Chairman, Australia of Deutsche Bank AG, Chairman of BlueChilli Technologies Pty. Ltd., Deputy Chairman of the General Sir John Monash Foundation and a Director of the Centre for independent Studies. A former Chairman of both the Australian Centre for Contemporary Art (ACCA) and Film Australia, Mr Skala also has been a Director of the Australian Ballet, the Australian Exhibitions Touring Agency and the Walter & Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research, and retired in 2015 from the Board of the Australian Broadcasting Corporation where he served for 10 years. A Member of the International Council of the Museum of Modern Art (MoMA) in New York since 2003, Mr Skala was appointed an Officer of the Order of Australia for his service to the arts, education, business and commerce in 2010.

Lisa Gorman

Lisa Gorman joined the Board in 2019. She founded her women’s wear clothing brand in 1999, after taking a career switch from registered nursing at the Royal Melbourne Hospital. Gorman cut her teeth in the fashion industry with couturier Mariana Hardwick, learning the trade from the retail floor up, eventually landing her with her own label. Gorman is well known for her extensive collaborations with local and international artists and designers, having presented over 80 collaborative collections in the past decade, including Heide darling, Mirka Mora. In 2005 Gorman was one of the first Australian labels to push into the sustainable fashion realm, now with more than fifty percent of the collection carrying the Gorman Organic label. Lisa currently holds the position of Creative Director of the Gorman business and is actively involved in the design, retail and marketing of her brand.

John Lee

John Lee joined the Board in April 2013. John is a Registered Architect, Fellow of the Australian Institute of Architects and the Director of the Melbourne office of McGlashan Everist Architects. McGlashan Everist is one of Victoria’s oldest architectural firms, operating in all sectors of architectural practice for more than sixty years. The practice has been recognised with many architectural awards including the RAIA Bronze Medal for the Best Building in Victoria for Heide II in 1968 and the Enduring Architecture Awardfor Heide II in 2015. John is a regular awards juror and member of the Association of Consulting Architects Australia and a member of Learning Environments Australasia and the Deakin University School of Architecture and Built Environment Education Advisory Board.

Cassy Liberman

Cassy began her career as a lawyer though she has spent most of her career as owner/operator of her own family offices; LJCB Investment Group and 5 Pillars Capital. Cassy is passionate about impact investment and using her financial resources to benefit our community and our environment whilst also working within and towards traditional financial return metrics. She has written and successfully published a series of children’s books that aims to inspire Australian children to follow their dreams and believe in themselves, titled Inspirational Australian Women. Cassy is a passionate supporter of the Arts, Health and Education, serving currently on the Board of the Women’s Hospital Foundation and the Board of Heide Museum of Modern Art. Her previous Board and Committee positions have been with One Disease, the Centre for Community Child Health and Murdoch Children’s Research Institute.

Sue Smith

Ms Sue Smith joined the Board in August 2018. Sue is a Human Resources executive with over 30 years of human resources and transformation experience in multinational organisations, predominantly across agribusiness, FMCG and manufacturing, property and financial services. She is currently Executive Director, Human Resources & Transformation with Simplot Australia, with responsibility for Human Resources, Transformation and Enterprise Project Management, Health & Safety, and Communications. Prior to joining Simplot, Sue held HR leadership roles at companies such as Centro Properties Group, Fosters Group, General Electric and Colonial Financial Services. Sue has a Bachelor of Arts from the University of Melbourne and a Post Graduate Diploma in Human Resources from Deakin University. Sue is also a Director of The Harrison Riedel Foundation, which aims to address mental health issues among young children.

Dr Nancy Underhill

Dr Nancy Underhill joined the Board in January 2016. Dr Underhill is an author, curator and art historian. Educated at Bryn Mawr College and the Courtauld Institute she was Foundation Head of Art History and Inaugural Director of the University Art Museum at the University of Queensland. She has served on the Visual Arts Board of the Australia Council, chaired the Art Association of Australia and the Museums Association of Australia, been a Visiting Fellow at the Humanities Research Centre at ANU, and the Centre of Australian Studies, Kings College, London. Her books include Sidney Nolan: A Life (2015), Nolan on Nolan: Sidney Nolan in his Own Words (2007), Letters of John Reed (co-edit 2001), and Making Australian Art 1916–1949 (1991). She is currently Deputy to Lisa Gasteen AO for the Lisa Gasteen National Opera School.

James van Smeerdijk

James is the founder of atticusnow, a consulting firm that advises government and business on complex strategy, policy and economic issues. He has led thought leadership projects on issues as diverse as polycentric cities, water reform, early childhood, heatwaves, obesity, and indigenous incarceration.He was previously a partner at PwC, and was responsible for PwC’s Victorian Government relationship. He led the development of PwC’s Reconciliation Action Plan and also the establishment of PwC’s Indigenous Consulting, an innovative majority Indigenous owned, led and staffed consulting business. He also co-developed and innovative share value relationship between PwC and Arts Centre Melbourne. Before this he was CEO of The Allen Consulting Group, and also a Senior Executive in the Victorian Treasury. B.Sc (Hons) from the University of Melbourne. MBA from the Melbourne Business School, where he was also a Senior Fellow lecturing on public policy. Fellow of IPAA Victoria.

Sharni Zoch

Sharni Zoch joined the Board in April 2013.Sharni is the General Manager, Internal Audit, Origin Energy and was a partner in KPMG’s Risk Consulting practice and has over twenty years audit and risk management experience, working in corporate and Big 4 professional services environments with large, multi-national clients. Sharni is a Chartered Accountant who has worked in Melbourne, New York, London and Asia and has a Bachelor of Commerce from the University of Melbourne.